Flight Sim Aircraft Production Scrapbook

Author’s note: I thought that it would be fun to dig this post from my archive as I sometimes get inquiries on methods of how aircraft are created for Flight Sim, and this is a great illustration of that. This post originally “aired” in November of 2007.

I was sorting through some paper near my desk this morning, and I stumbled upon some of the drawings and images I used as production references for the Twin Comanche. I thought that it would be fun to share these images with you and give a glimpse at the method to my madness.

Here is a top view and appropriate notes. Believe it or not, all of this made perfect sense to me at the time. I took measurements using a carpenter’s measuring tape that only had inches and feet. All of these figures had to be converted to meters, as that is the measurement unit used in GMax or Max for an FS model.

More measurements, this time on the underneath of the aircraft. I guess Algebra does come in handy in the real world! 🙂

This time I’m measuring the dimensions of the windows, tires, and anything else that has a dimension from the left or right. And yes, I do my homework to determine what the airfoil of the wing is shaped. 😉

Measurements of the door and hinges. It appears that I forgot to get the dimensions of the rear tie-down. I’m sure that was retrieved on another sheet that has been misplaced.

If you happen to find your subject aircraft in annual inspection, you’ll have a golden opportunity to take pictures of the seats while they are outside of the aircraft. Even better, it allows for easier measurements without having to contort through a cramp cabin.

And finally here is the panel with appropriate dimensions noted. When modeling an aircraft, you can never get too many measurements of the real aircraft. That sure saves some headaches when things do not fit together well from poor estimation of size. I hope that this has been an interesting look at the behind-the-scenes of aircraft model development!

Leave a comment

Filed under Flight Simulator

Leave a Reply

